The Perks of Living Tiny

our-tiny-house

Recently, I’ve been completely enthralled by the idea of living in a tiny house – more specifically, a tiny house on wheels. These houses come in different shapes and sizes, but tiny mobile houses are generally between 100-200 square feet. I know. It’s small. So, why would I want to live like that? Oh, let me tell you…

For starters, did you know that the average size of a newly built home in America is 2,679 square feet? Despite the fact that the American family is shrinking, our need for space is growing exponentially. In fact, the average home size has increased by over 1,000 square feet in the last 40 years, and it works out to be an average 1,054.7 square feet per person. Incredible. And what for? Why do we need so much space? 

The answer: material possessions. Don’t get me wrong – I’m guilty of it, too. I have a closet full of dresses and sweaters and shoes that I don’t wear. We have boxes of god-knows-what stored away in our closet that we don’t bother to unpack, but also don’t bother to sort and donate. My makeup collection could beautify an army. Worst of all, we have an incredibly spacious dining room with a solid walnut table and chairs that I just had to have, and guess how many times we’ve used it? I’ll give you a hint: Not enough.

morrison

Andrew & Gabriella Morrison

It got me thinking, why am I doing this? Why are things important to me? Here’s the rub: I have a bit of a split personality. I envy friends of mine who get to travel. Just drop everything and go. Explore the world. Explore your own country. Take a road trip. I envy them. But, then… the other part of me loves creature comforts. I’m a homebody. I’d miss my bed. I’d miss my kitchen. I wouldn’t feel at home. So, what then – lightbulb– if I could have both? With a tiny house, I could. It appeals to both sides of me.

If that isn’t enough, here are some of the perks of building your own tiny house.

  • Rent/mortgage-free lifestyle. Depending on how extravagant you want to go, you can build your own tiny house for relatively cheap. Let’s say, between $15k-30k. You own it! Maybe you’ll be repaying a loan for a bit, but you won’t be paying rent and it’s much cheaper than average-sized homes.
  • Mobility. Although some tiny houses are not mobile, you have the option of  building your tiny home on wheels. Imagine the freedom of being able to pick up and go at a moment’s notice?
  • Environmentally friendly. Reduce your carbon footprint. Use less energy, water, and gas. Use composting toilets. Power your home with solar panels. The list goes on and on…
  • Minimize your life. Find out what’s really important to you and get rid of everything else. No clutter in your home, no clutter in your life. Keep the essentials. Minimizing allows you to do the things that you love more often.
  • Low costs. Smaller is cheaper. Less building costs, less energy used, less material possessions bought. Start using your money for experiences instead of things.
Version.2

Laird Herbert

I don’t know about you, but I’m in love. Maybe I’ll be blogging from my very own tiny house in a few years. Until then, I’ll be here daydreaming.

7 thoughts on “The Perks of Living Tiny

  1. i’ve been so obsessed with living small lately! we downsized from a two story apartment to an apartment above a garage. we donated a lot, but i kept a lot of craft stuff (i can’t part with my yarn). i thought the adjustment would be really challenging, but it’s been so much more liberating. i am more conscious of every purchase i make because space is so limited.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s amazing! I would really love to start downsizing, but it’s hard. I guess that’s sort of the point though, isn’t it? It’s a challenge, but it’s worth it.

      Like

  2. JoAnna, the coolest thing about this is that you can view your lifestyle as an outsider. It sounds like you are gaining a new perspective on what is most important to you in life. I really admire that. And, the beauty of it all is that we have a choice. We have the power to make our dreams become reality. Also, I don’t believe living in a tiny house is for everyone, but it can sure teach you a lot about the value of possessions, your actual needs, and what you buy out of greed. I look forward to continuing to read your writing!

    Like

  3. Pingback: {Meet} JoAnna Carpentier from Thrifting and Bitching | NC Blogger Network

Leave a Reply

