Review | August Ipsy Glam Bag

i6

Ipsy’s theme for August is Beauty Schooled. From the Ipsy website: “This month, you’ll discover that you’ll never stop learning – especially, when it comes to the world of beauty.” Well, I think we can all agree with that, and since I’m going back to school on Tuesday (eeeep!), I thought that the theme was really cute. 

photo 2First Impression:
I’m not a fan of the makeup bag, itself. Not a big deal since I have SO MANY Ipsy bags that I love, but the bag just isn’t my style, (which is bound to happen from time to time). It’s all plastic and stiff, so it gets kind of wrinkly. But, I was excited to dig in and explore these products.

 

i3Dr. Brandt Pores No More
I always sneak a peek at my glam bag online and I was thrilled to see that I was getting this again. I used up my full size and then got this in my February Birchbox. But, I absolutely love it, so I would be happy to get this every month. It’s a lightly tinted pore refining primer that absorbs oil and gives your skin a nice matte finish. Plus, it has tea tree and flaxseed extracts, so it’s great for your skin! It really is a great product, but it comes with a price tag to match.

Full size: $45 / 1 fl oz
Sample size: $11.25 / .25 fl oz

 

i2Nicka K Absolute You’re The Balm (Grape)
While I really like the packaging, I am probably the least excited about this product. First of all, it has a very strong grape smell, which makes me feel like I’d be running around smelling like Grape Bubblicious gum. It’s lightly tinted with purple, which doesn’t really show up on your lips, but glitter? Really? I feel like this is the kind of lip balm you could give to a 6-year-old as a stocking stuffer. So, while I love trying new products, I’m going to find this one a new home.

Full size: $3 (comes in a duo for $5.99)  / 12 g
Sample size: $3 / 12 g

 

i4Coastal Scents Forever Blush
I really like Coastal Scents, but I wish this were one larger sample instead of two small ones. I feel like it’ll be awkward to get my blush brush to pick up only the color I’m looking for. Regardless, I am not super blown away by either of these shades. To be fair, I’m not a huge blush person anyway, so take that with a grain of salt. I will very likely be passing this along to a friend as well.

Full size: $8 / 10 g (0.35 oz)
Sample size: $1.92 / 2.4 g (0.08 oz)

 

photoUrban Decay Perversion Mascara
I was so stoked to get this in my glam bag. I absolutely love Urban Decay, but I had yet to own (or even try) their mascara. I had been missing out! I love the Perversion mascara. It’s much more lengthening than the other mascaras I’ve been using and my lashes didn’t clump at all! It nourishes with honey extract, which I found really interesting. Oh, and the packaging is super sleek, in a thin metallic black tube. Another win for Urban Decay!

Full size: $22 / 12 ml (0.4 fl oz)
Sample size: $5.50 / 3 ml (0.1 fl oz)

 

photo 1Lord & Berry Black Silk Mini Kajal Kohl-Liner
I had never used this brand before and I’ve gotta say, I like this eyeliner! It goes on smooth, but it’s not too soft. Plus, it’s a really nice deep black. Will it replace my go-to liner? Nah. But, I’m a fan and it will definitely get used! Also, not to nerd out about packaging too much, but I love the rounded chubby liner with that really clean font. It looks great!

 

Full size: $16.70 / 1.44 g
Sample size: $6.96 / 0.6 g

 

So, all in all, I absolutely love two things, like one, and will be passing off two. Is it my favorite bag ever? No. But, I still think it’s worth it. Especially since, by my calculations, my glam bag is worth $28.63 this month! That’s a pretty good deal for $10 with free shipping. Plus, that price doesn’t include the cost of the makeup bag. 🙂

Are you interested in joining Ipsy? I’d love it if you used my referral link when you sign up!

One thought on “Review | August Ipsy Glam Bag

  1. I swore I wasn’t going to try my perversion mascara until I finish with at least one of the three open mascaras I currently have but reading he reviews is making it hard! I also can’t wait to try Pores No More.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

