Review | The Everygirl Birchbox

b1

For the last few months, Birchbox has been allowing their subscribers to select an item for their box from a few set choices. This month, subscribers could choose between Noir Long-Wear Eyeliner, ModelCo Bronze in Shimmer, Laura Geller Cool Lids Cream Eyeshadow in Silver Sands, or theBalm Stainiac in Beauty Queen. Alternatively, you could choose August’s featured box, “The Everygirl Box.” Here’s a peek inside…

b3First Glance:
The Everygirl is packaged with care, as always, and includes two cards. The first is an invititation to win “An exclusive Benefit + Birchbox Beauty Bash,” which I immediately entered! There’s also a card explaining how the Everygirl box was put together – with affordable luxury in mind.

b4

Here’s what’s inside:
Number 4 Super Comb Prep & Protect; Acure Organics Brightening Facial Scrub; Not Soap, Radio Happiness Inducing Body Wash; Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real Push-Up Liner; and Harvey Prince Hello Perfume.

 

b5

Number 4 Super Comb Prep & Protect
This is a sulfate-free leave-in conditioner. I actually received this in my June Birchbox. (Typically they don’t send repeats, but I opted for this box knowing that there would be a few repeats because I really liked these products.) I think this conditioner is great. It smells nice – scented with white freesia, amber, & musk. It uses natural conditioners to protect your hair from heat damage and frizz, and it’s safe for color-treated hair.

Full size: $32 / 200ml
Sample size: $4.80 / 30 ml (1 fl oz)

 

b6Not Soap, Radio Happiness Inducing Body Wash
This is lemon sugar scented and it smells amazing. It’s free of parabens, sulfate, and phthalates, and is not tested on animals. I love that it’s cruelty free. This brand is new to me and I am intrigued by their scents! I do wish that this had a bit of a richer/creamier lather, as it’s a bit thin. With that said, I’m not sure that this would work well as a bubble bath, but I liked it just fine as a body wash!

Full size: $16 / 402.5 ml (13.61 fl oz)
Sample size: $1.75 / 44 ml (1.5 fl oz)

 

b7Acure Organics Brightening Facial Scrub
Yaaaaasssss. I feel like this has been the year of finding amazing facial scrubs and this one just might take the cake. It’s vegan and free of gluten, parabens, phthalates, silicone, and synthetic fragrances. What you will find in this tube is french green clay and organic lemon peel to clean and moisturize, organic sea kelp to exfoliate, and organic Chlorella Growth Factor (CGF) and Argan stem cells to stimulate cell growth.

Full size: $14.99 / 4 oz
Sample size: $3.75 / 1 oz

 

b8Benefit They’re Real! Push-Up Liner
I was lucky enough to win a pre-release sample of this from Birchbox a few months ago and I fell in love with it. (Also, Ariel bought this with her BB points and posted a full review. So, be sure to check it out!) Basically, this is a waterproof gel eyeliner in a twist-to-click applicator pen. The tip of the pen is angled and flexible to make application super easy. (As a big fan of the cat-eye, I am all about precise eyeliners!) It’s a deep black, long-lasting, and super impressive.

Full size: $24 / .04 oz
Sample size: $1.80 / .003 oz

 

b9Harvey Prince Hello
This is another repeat for me, but I absolutely love this perfume. Usually, I’m not a huge fan of smelling fruity, but Hello is the perfect blend of fruit and floral. The top notes are meyer lemon, mandarin, and grapefruit. But the citrus is balanced with floral notes of forsythia and plumeria. (Fun fact: These flowers are traditionally used in Hawaiian leis!) I think that this scent is just beautiful. It’s bright, energizing, and feminine, and not too overpowering. Love it.

Full size: $55 / 50 ml
Sample size: $2.20  / 2 ml

 

By my calculations, The Everygirl Birchbox is worth $14.30. Not the highest valued box I’ve ever received, but not too shabby for $10 with free shipping. Usually there is a product or two that I give away to a friend or tuck away for later, but I am honestly excited to use everything from this box. Now I’m just keeping my fingers crossed that I get chosen for the Benefit + Birchbox Beauty Bash!

Are you interested in joining Birchbox? I’d love it if you used my referral link when you join! 

One thought on “Review | The Everygirl Birchbox

  1. Pingback: Who knew – dry shampoo? | Thrifting & Bitching

Leave a Reply

