Polyvore, Where Have You Been All My Life?

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 7.23.44 PM

Alright, so I know that Polyvore has been around for a while, but I just discovered my love for it, so bear with me. If you’re unfamiliar with the site, it’s basically a place where you can go and create “sets” – which basically look like magazine pages – consisting of all kinds of things, from fashion to furniture to background images, and much more. So, if you’re like me and you love to window-shop and daydream (in my case, because I can’t afford to actually buy a lot of the things that I want), you’ll probably love Polyvore! 

I know it sounds silly, but I feel like online shopping without the actual shopping bit curbs my urge to buy things I can’t afford. You’d think it would be the opposite and that I’d find all kinds of things that I want and just have to have them. But for some reason, it calms my inner-shopaholic. I guess for me, dreaming about it is half the fun. Plus, if you know me, you probably know that I love watching shows about home decorating and fashion (and love putting together a cute room or an awesome outfit). So, Polyvore lets me do that without spending any money. And it collects all of my sets, so that if I want to go back later and look at them, they’re all there. Great for inspiration!

There’s also the artist in me (who, by the way, has grown increasingly interested in graphic design/advertising), so creating these magazine-like pages is a really fun way to kill some time. One thing that I’ve discovered and really loved about the site is that they host a lot of contests. For example, they recently had a contest called Summer to Fall: Maxi Dress where you had to pick out a maxi dress and show how you could accessorize it for both summer and fall. This was mine:

Screen Shot 2014-09-06 at 7.14.36 PM

As you can see, I hadn’t yet discovered all of the backgrounds and textures available, so I’m excited to dive in and design some sets with those elements. The only downside to the contests that I’ve noticed thus far is that it seems like if you win them, you just win. ::shrugs:: There isn’t a prize for most of the contests, it seems. Just bragging rights and a “trophy” on your Polyvore profile. (Please correct me if I’m wrong. I’d love to learn more about this.)

Regardless, I have found that it’s a fun and relaxing way to kill some downtime, discover some new styles, and get inspired about your home and wardrobe. If you’re on Polyvore, feel free to follow me! My sets will be getting better as time goes on, I promise. 😉 Also, I’m still a total newbie, so if there are any super rad site features that I should know about, or you just want to share your sets with me, feel free to comment below. I’m currently on the hunt for a killer dressy-casual outfit to wear to a wedding next weekend, so if you’ve got a set for that, let’s see it!

Happy window shopping! 🙂

One thought on “Polyvore, Where Have You Been All My Life?

  1. Your description of Polyvore is on point! I fell in love with Polyvore the moment I found the site and I also thought “Where have you been all my life?!” I did a similar post about summer to fall idea options! If you want to check it out http://handmestyle.wordpress.com/2014/11/07/transitioning-from-summer-to-fall/ 🙂
    I also love liking many items, it feels like it’s my closet haha. A cool feature of the site is you can create collections, so basically pretend to be a designer and put a whole collection together! My Polyvore is http://karinasilly.polyvore.com if you want to take a peek.

    Like

Leave a Reply

