Review | September ’14 Birchbox

photo 1-1This week has been kind of crazy, so I was so excited to find out that I got both Birchbox and Ipsy on Wednesday! I love it when they come on the same day – it feels like Christmas. As I mentioned in a previous review, Birchbox has been allowing subscribers to select a product in advance for the last few months. This month, I did not receive the item that I reserved, but I assume it was due to a billing error and not BB’s fault. (Screw you, person in the UK who stole my CC info!)

photo 2-1First Glance:
The theme for this month’s Birchbox was “Fresh Paint” – perfect theme for my first semester in art school, right?I think I’m going to cut up the info card and put it on my inspiration board in my studio. They also included a card introducing ChapStick’s new dual-ended lip balm, which you are entered to win $1,000 in Birchbox products if you review. Whaaaaaat?!

photo 3Here’s What’s Inside:
Dr. Brandt Pores No More Vacuum Cleaner; Laura Mercier Full Blown Lash Volume Building Supreme Mascara; Macadamia Professional Healing Oil Spray; TEMPTU S/B Highlighter in Champagne Shimmer; Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream; and ChapStick Hydration Lock Moisturize & Renew.

photo 5Dr. Brandt Pores No More Vacuum Cleaner
I love Dr. Brandt and I was so, so excited to see this in my box. But then I was pretty disappointed because it’s almost completely empty. I’ve seen people complain about this sort of thing happening before, but in my 11 months with Birchbox, this is the first time it has happened to me. If it’s anything like the other Dr. Brandt products I’ve tried, it’s safe to say I’d love it.

Full size: $45 / 1oz
Sample size: $11.25 / .25 oz

photo 3-1Laura Mercier Full Blown Lash Volume Building Supreme Mascara
Long name, much? Haha. But, in all seriousness, I am always happy to try a new mascara. I didn’t totally love this one, but it’s decent and will definitely get used. The packaging for this mascara is beautiful! It has a really nice, smooth plastic case with a bit of a shimmer to it. It’s sort of a dark eggplant in color and has a really clean, classy font – always gets me.

Full size: $25 / .35 oz
Sample size: $14.28 / .2 oz

photo 4Macadamia Professional Healing Oil Spray
This smells really nice and isn’t overpowering. Plus, it’s a pretty generous sample at 2 full ounces. But, I won’t be using this. I have pretty oily hair, so the last thing I need is to pump it full of more oil. Cute branding, though! I love the green.  I’m setting this aside to be part of a future giveaway prize pack. Be on the lookout! 🙂

Full size: $14.50 / 2 fl oz
Sample size: $14.50 / 2 fl oz

 

photo 2-2TEMPTU S/B Highlighter in Champagne Shimmer
I was really excited to see that I’d be getting a highlighter in this month’s Birchbox since I’m running low and trying not to spend a bunch of cash on the Anastasia Contour Kit (even though I really freakin’ want it!). I’m a bit disappointed in the color I got, as it is a bit pinker than I would like in a highlighter. (Actually it reminds me of Ruffian’s Rose Gold nail polish.) But, the color is actually great for cheeks. I just won’t be using it under my eyes. 😉

Full size: $27.50 / 1 fl oz
Sample size: $2.75 / .1 fl oz

 

photo-001Yu-Be Moisturizing Skin Cream
Out of everything they showed in the sneak peek video, I wanted to try this the most. It has vitamins B2 and E, so it’s great for your skin, and it can be used anywhere on your body (including your lips!). It’s thick, but absorbs into your skin immediately and feels AMAZING. It totally smells like Vicks Vapor Rub, though, so it’s probably not something you want to keep in your purse for date night.

Full size: $16 / 1.25 fl oz
Sample size: $1.28 / .1 fl oz

aaaaaaaaaaaaand, last but not least…. 

photo 4-1ChapStick’s Hydration Lock Moisture & Renew Lip Balm
I’m really digging this, actually. I know a lot of ladies don’t like getting ChapStick in their Birchbox because it isn’t high end or exciting. You can get it at the grocery store, yada, yada. But, hey, I’ll definitely use it. It’s practical. And this one isn’t your run-of-the-mill chapstick.

*By the way, I use the word chapstick as a brand and as the word for lip balm. (Now that’s the result of genius marketing at work, ChapStick. You did it, dudes.)

This chapstick feels great on. I love that it has natural butters & oils (including jojoba, coconut, shea, and others) to revitalize your lipsI used it all day today and it was pretty long-lasting. I didn’t have to reapply it much and I was pretty happy to when I did, since it feels so great when you first put it on! I especially loved the renew side, for some reason.

As for the packaging, I think it’s alright. I don’t mind the longer tube – reminds me of SoftLips, though. Design-wise, meh. But, I know that fancy design isn’t really ChapStick’s thing and that’s fine. I do like that they have different-colored caps for the renew and moisturize sides. We get so used to the habit of twisting chapstick tubes from the bottom to get more. But, with this design, you need to twist the tube right next to the top. So that may or may not have tricked me this morning. Ha.

All-in-all, this is a solid chapstick, my friends. It certainly wouldn’t hurt to have in your purse for chapped-lip season. Especially at the low-cost of $3!

Full size: $3 / 2.2 g
Sample size: $3 / 2.2 g

If my calculations are correct, my September box was worth $47.06. Dayum, Birchbox! That’s what I’m talkin’ about. And all that for just $10 and free shipping. Now send me all the good vibes so that I can win $1,000 in BB products. I will share, I promise. 😉

Are you interested in joining Birchbox? I’d love it if you used my referral link when you join! 

4 thoughts on “Review | September ’14 Birchbox

  1. Pingback: Review | November ’14 Ipsy | Thrifting & Bitching

Leave a Reply

