Review | September ’14 Ipsy

photo 1-2

Ipsy’s theme for September is Street Style, which I was really excited for. From their website: “All eyes are on NY but our eyes are on YOU.” I love that they tied in fashion week! I really thought this bag would be a slam dunk for me, but I didn’t totally love all of the items. But hey, 3/5 ain’t bad and they’re mostly full-sized!

photo 2-3First Impression:
Not to be too brutal (because I loooove Ipsy), but I hate the bag, itself. I just think it’s kind of tacky looking. It is spacious and well-made though. Just not my style. The samples I received were almost all full-sized and I was excited to look through them and test them out!

 

photo 3-2Pacifica 7 Free Nail Polish (Red Red Wine)
This is probably my favorite item from this month’s bag. I love Pacifica. They’re a vegan/cruelty-free brand and they have beautiful branding, which I’m a real sucker for. This nail polish is free of many of the chemicals you’ll usually find in nail polishes and it has a 100% vegan brush, which is pretty cool! I love the color. It took me two coats to get good coverage, but I wore it out for date night last night and I’ve been cleaning all day. It hasn’t chipped yet!

 

Full size: $9 / .45 fl oz
Sample size: $9 / .45 fl oz

photo 4-2Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask
I wasn’t so stoked to see this in my bag. First of all, it’s for dry, damaged, or chemically-treated hair – none of which suit my hair. But mostly, I was just a little bummed because I have very short hair and enough hair masks to condition an army. (I realize that’s a poor example because soldiers barely have hair, but you know what I mean.) No biggie, though. I’ll put it in my giveaway pile. Seems like a great product,  just not for me right now.

Full size: $26 / 5.25 oz
Sample size: $4.95 / 1 oz

 

photo 5-1Hikari Lipstick (Cabernet)
I was really excited to try this out! I’m all about red lips lately and I really love this color. It goes on even and smooth, it doesn’t feel drying, and it has a really lovely matte finish! The only thing I don’t totally love about it is the packaging. While the shape and font are really cute (and kind of remind me of Manna Kadar), the plastic case feels kind of cheap and it’s reallllllly shiny, so it gets covered in finger prints every time you touch it). Otherwise though, this is really great!

Full size: $13 / 3.8 g
Sample size: $13 / 3.8 g

 

photo 2-4Crown Brush Infinity Shadow/Crease Duet Brush
I LOVE this brush. It has really soft bristles, picks up and holds shadow well, and I love that it’s dual-ended. The shadow side is perfect for contouring or just applying your eye shadow, and the crease brush is great for those small areas where you want more precision. I had never tried this brand before, but they’re definitely on my radar now.

Full size: $17.50 (on sale for $6.99)
Sample size: $17.50 (I’ll go by the full price value)

 

 

photo 1-3NYX Hot Singles Eye Shadow (Bling)
When my glam room opened up, it showed a purple shade which I was a bit on the fence about but was excited to try. However, I ended up getting a really glittery silver shade. I basically never wear silver-toned makeup, unless it’s for a costume or something. I tend to prefer warmer colors. So, I will be putting this in my giveaway pile. But it’s full-sized and I bet this color would look fantastic on someone else. 🙂 Ooh, and I love the little bow closure (not pictured).

Full size: $4.50 / 1.5 g
Sample size: $4.50 / 1.5 g

 

That makes this bag worth a total of $48.95 (and that doesn’t include the makeup bag). Not too shabby for $10 with free shipping. I’m a happy camper with my new red nails and red lips for fall! 🙂

Are you interested in joining Ipsy? I’d love it if you used my referral link when you sign up!

2 thoughts on “Review | September ’14 Ipsy

Leave a Reply

