WANTED: Luxurious Hand Cream

Screen Shot 2014-09-23 at 11.38.41 PM

It’s officially the first day of fall and, as a New England native, I was happy to finally feel a chill in the air here in North Carolina. Like everyone, I get dry skin during the colder months. But last year it was an even bigger problem for me. Let me back up a minute and just confess something that has embarrassed me my entire life: I have hyperhidrosis. 

If you aren’t familiar with hyperhidrosis, it basically just means that I sweat excessively. And I’m not talking about just when I exercise. It doesn’t matter if I’m sitting on my ass or running on the treadmill, it doesn’t matter if it’s 100º outside or 15º– I sweat a lot. It used to really ruin my life as a teenager, but that’s a whole blog post of its own. The point is, it has gotten worse and worse over the years, so last summer, I finally talked to my doctor about it, and man am I glad that I did.

Now, I’m on a prescription medication (an anticholinergic) that mostly prevents the excessive sweating. (Now I sweat about the same amount as any normal person would, or even a little bit less!) But here’s the thing: it makes my skin SO DRY – especially my hands.

Luckily, dry hands is a problem I’m happy to take on! I’m a real sucker for a good hand cream, anyway. It’s actually one of my favorite things to just splurge on because it feels like such a luxurious treat to have a fancy hand cream in your purse whenever you need it. I especially love to buy hand creams with ornate packaging. I can’t explain it. It’s like spraying on perfume from one of those vintage bottles with the bulb sprayers.

Well it’s that time of year again and I’m ready to buy! The problem is, I don’t have a go-to hand cream. I’m looking to try something new. I tend to like lotions with a lot of natural properties and light scents. I don’t mind smelling citrusy, but I don’t like smelling sweet fruity. I’m more of a honey/fig/woodsy kind of gal. But, I’m open to suggestions!  Ideally, I’d like to find a light, everyday hand lotion and a heavier hand cream. So I want to hear about your favorites!

Leave a comment below and help a girl out!
What’s the best hand cream you’ve ever used or one you can’t wait to try?

3 thoughts on “WANTED: Luxurious Hand Cream

    • I haven’t tried the Burt’s Bees hand cream yet! I keep meaning to because it’s so affordable and I love that brand. But, it comes in a jar, so it doesn’t fit my lifestyle/wants as much as a tube. But next time I’m at the store, I’ll pick it up to keep on my desk at work. 🙂

      I didn’t know Carmex had a hand cream! I thought they only did lips. Good to know, thanks!

      Like

  1. Pingback: October ’14 Beauty Favorites! | Thrifting & Bitching

Leave a Reply

