Review | Walmart Beauty Box Fall ’14

IMG_0037

My first Walmart Beauty Box (& a cute scarf I found thrifting!)

Did you know that Walmart now offers a beauty subscription box?! I’m not sure why, but that totally blew my mind and I had to order it. After all, it’s only $5! So, here’s the deal: every season (spring, summer, fall, & winter) they’ll send you a box of items to try. Some are full-sized, but most are samples. You don’t fill out a comprehensive survey like you would with Birchbox or Ipsy, so you can’t expect the products to be perfectly catered to suit your needs, but hey, it’s five bucks. 

IMG_0040

I recently received my fall box in the mail and I’ve gotta say, I’m impressed. Immediately upon opening it, I noticed a few full-sized items that are individually worth the cost of the whole box (or more!). So here’s a closer look at what I got:
*Note that costs are rounded to the nearest quarter.

IMG_0051Secret Clinical Strength Deodorant
As I’ve mentioned before, I have hyperhidrosis. So although it’s now under control and I no longer need a clinical strength deodorant, it certainly doesn’t hurt to have! I have tried many clinical strength deodorants over the years and I like this one. Plus, the cost of this item alone is worth more than I paid for the box, so that’s always pretty cool!
Full size: $8 / 1.6 oz
Sample size: $8 / 1.6 oz

 

IMG_0048L’Oréal Glossy Balm – Innocent Coral
I was STOKED to see this in the box. I’m a big fan of lip crayons and the color is unlike anything I currently have – it’s really fun and bright! Naturally, I couldn’t wait to test it out, so I wore it to a party last night. While I love the color and the way this moisturizes, I was super disappointed in the way it holds together within the tube. After just one night of having this in my pocket, it’s falling apart. 😦 Great color, though.

Full size: $7 / 0.9 oz
Sample size: $7 / 0.9 oz

IMG_0045Nicki Minaj Pink Friday Perfume
I had never smelled this before and while I like Nicki Minaj, her brand hasn’t really caught my interest. The package doesn’t say anything about the scent, so I wasn’t sure what to expect, but here are the fragrance notes I found online: boysenberry, lotus flower, Italian mandarin, star fruit, and vanilla. I think it smells pretty good, but it’s definitely not my favorite. The sample won’t go to waste, though!

Full size: $30 / 1 fl oz
Sample size: $1.25 / .04 fl oz

IMG_0047Covergirl Glowing Nights Glosstini – Laser Light
At first, I didn’t think this was a full-size polish, but it turns out it is – they just come in small bottles. Apparently this nail polish glows under a black light, but what with it being 2014 and all, and not being a professional bowler, I don’t often find myself in the company of black lights. I’ll take their word for it! The color I got appears glittery on the website, but it’s more of a plain black nail polish, which is fine by me!

Full size: $3 / 0.11 fl oz
Sample size: $3 / 0.11 fl oz

IMG_0043Dove Advanced Hair Series Oxygen Moisture Shampoo & Conditioner
Since this is for “fine, flat hair,” I probably wouldn’t have bought it for myself. But, I do like having travel-size bottles of shampoo and conditioner around for when I take trips. So I will definitely hang on to these for my next adventure. It’s been a long time since I’ve used a Dove shampoo or conditioner, but I recall liking them just fine.

Full size: $5 / 12 fl oz
Sample size: $.50 / 1 fl oz

IMG_0049L’Oréal Youth Code Pore Vanisher
I am always pretty skeptical of things that claim to shrink your pores because I have large pores and I’ve tried A LOT of products that promised smaller pores… and guess what? They’re still big. Well, with that being said, it doesn’t hurt to try, does it? I’ll definitely give this a shot. Since it’s such a small sample, I can’t really test their claim to “shrink actual pore size in 1 month,” but I can get the gist of it.

Full size: $18 / 1.4 fl oz
Sample size: $.75 / 0.06

IMG_0050Neutrogena Nourishing Long Wear Makeup 
I haven’t tried this foundation before, but it claims to be tone-correcting and have 12 hours of breathable coverage. The sample I was sent includes 8 different shades, which is great! I love being able to test out different shades at home (and not under fluorescent lighting) to find the right one for me. This also comes with a coupon for $2 off when you purchase the full-sized item!

Full size: $14 / 1 fl oz
Sample size: $.75 / estimated

IMG_0044Dove Pure Care Dry Oil
Mannnn, I have a thousand hair masks and oils that I just don’t use. I’m sure this is a good product, but I won’t be using it. Off to the give away pile it goes! Gotta love the smell of macadamia oil, though.

 

 

Full size: $12 / 3.38 fl oz
Sample size: $1.50 / 0.4 fl oz

All together, that comes out to $22.75! Overall, I’m really impressed with this subscription. It’s a lot of product for just $5. I’m glad that it’s seasonal though, because I could see these types of products starting to stack up if I were receiving them on a monthly basis. It’s definitely worth checking out!

Are you interested in signing up for Walmart’s Beauty Box? You can sign up here!

5 thoughts on “Review | Walmart Beauty Box Fall ’14

Leave a Reply

