Review | October ’14 Birchbox

IMG_0092Awwwwww, yeah! You know what time it is. Come on in and take a look at what I got this month…

IMG_0118First Glance:
My first impression when I opened up my October Birchbox was “Whoa, this thing is packed.” Seriously, just as far as the amount of product goes, this box has a lot in it.The theme for this month’s Birchbox is Fanfare, so it’s basically all about indulging in your obsessions and passions. I’m into it!

 

 

IMG_0105clariSEA Rapid Detox Charcoal Exfoliant
What an interesting product! This is basically a dry mask that you mix with water before each use. It’s made of all natural ingredients like sea salt, sweet almond, and activated bamboo charcoal powder. Apparently this product is great for blackheads and oil, so I am excited to try it, as those are my two biggest skin problems!

Full size: $18 / 4 oz
Sample size: $4.50 / 1 oz

IMG_0102Ellovi Vanilla Body Butter
I really like this body butter! It smells a bit like sugar cookies, which isn’t my favorite, but it’s a very light scent. I love that this raw body butter is made from only 6 ingredients. Also, it doesn’t contain water, so it is very concentrated. I have to say, my skin feels amazing after using this! I love it so much that I’m going to buy one of their lip butters.

Full size: $26 / 3.5 fl oz
Sample size: $2.52 / .34 fl oz

IMG_0121Macadamia Professional Flawless Cleansing Conditioner
This basically sounds like the holy grail of hair products. It’s a 6-in-1 product that claims to cleanse, condition, reduce blow dry time in half, detangle, enhance volume, and eliminate frizz. I don’t totally love the smell of macadamia products, but they’re great for your hair, so I’ll deal with it.

Full size: $33 / 8 oz
Sample size: $12.37 / 3 oz

UPDATE: I tried this out and less than 24 hours later, my hair looks SO. GREASY. I have kind of oily hair, but this is NOT how my hair typically looks after such a short amount of time. I do not recommend this unless you have dry hair.

IMG_0103Lord & Berry Paillettes Glitter Eye Pencil in Black
I was hoping that I wouldn’t get this, just because I am a plain black eyeliner kind of girl and probably wouldn’t put this to use. I’ve also used a Lord & Berry eyeliner pencil in the past and while it was alright, it certainly won’t replace my gel eyeliner anytime soon! This one is off to the giveaway pile.

Full size: $18 / .04 oz
Sample size: $4.50  / .01 oz

IMG_0108ModelCo Party Proof Lipstick in Kitty
I was excited to see this as an option for the October sample selection. I have been wanting to try ModelCo, but hadn’t gotten around to it. I’m also happy to have received a semi-matte soft pink / nude shade, since I don’t really have anything like it. It has a really nice coverage and feels hydrating.

Full size: $24 / (3) .13 oz lipsticks
Sample size: $8 / .13 oz

IMG_0109Kerastase Cristalliste Luminous Perfecting Essence
This leave-in treatment was specifically designed for long hair (which I do not have), and I am drowning in hair oils and treatments at the moment. I wish my hair were longer, but in the meantime I doubt I will be using this. Seems like a lovely product, though.

Full size: $42 / 50 ml
Sample size: $2.52  / 3 ml

All together, my October box is worth $34.41 (and only cost $10)! While I’m sending a product or two off to the giveaway pile, there are a few that I’m really excited about this time around. Also, real quick, I just need to rave for a moment about how awesome Birchbox’s reward system is, because it really just blows my mind… So, if you’re not familiar with it, here goes:

Every time you review a sampled product, you get 10 points. For every 100 points, you get $10 to spend in the Birchbox shop. PLUS, you get a point for every dollar you spend in the shop (even when you purchase using your points). I recently used my points to buy the Fall Fête box and a Rifle Paper Co. cell phone case and BAM, there’s 58 points. Now after I review my October box, I’ll have another $10 to spend in the Birchbox shop! I just love it and I know I’m being boring, so I’ll shut up now. But, seriously, the rewards system is the shit.

Are you interested in joining Birchbox? I’d love it if you used my referral link when you join! 

2 thoughts on “Review | October ’14 Birchbox

Leave a Reply

