Review | October ’14 Ipsy

IMG_0126

Ipsy’s theme for October is Beauty Candy, which is kind of cute. After all, getting beauty products in the mail every month is definitely a treat! I am loving my bag this month. Take a peek inside! 

IMG_0130First Impression:
You know, when I saw the actual bag online, I thought I wouldn’t like it. But, I do! Mostly, I just love the shape of these bags, with the zipper slightly lowered on the front. It’s perfect for closing your makeup bag without damaging your brush bristles in the zipper! Anyway, I am super excited about the products I got this month, so let’s dig in.

 

IMG_0134Indie Lee Brightening Cleanser
Holy beautiful packaging, Batman. Super modern and chic! This is an all-natural cleanser, and it’s paraben- and phthalate-free. It has a very light strawberry scent, which was delightful! And, if you let it sit on your skin for 5-10 minutes, it acts as an exfoliating mask! The Indie Lee website says it is also safe to use as a brush cleaner. Pretty awesome!

Full size: $32 / 4 fl oz
Sample size: $4  / .5 fl oz

IMG_0131Albertini International Warm Love Pumpkin Exfoliating Mask
Am I the only one that thinks “Warm Love” sounds kinda dirty? Anyway, I was excited to give this a try. Fall is my absolute FAVORITE season and I love all things pumpkin, so this was a really nice autumn treat. It’s made with real pumpkin enzymes, jojoba esters, and vitamin E. It smells amazing.

Full size: $23 / 5 fl oz
Sample size: $2.30  / .5 fl oz

IMG_0136Starlooks Lip Gloss in Guilty Pleasure
I’m not a huge lip gloss girl, but I like to have a few kicking around for when the mood strikes. I really love this color! It’s a really nice (almost taupe) pink. It’s pretty highly pigmented, but you can smooth it out for lighter coverage. There’s a slight shimmer to it that’s subtle. I’m a fan!

Full size: $12 / ?
Sample size: $4?  / .3 oz

IMG_0135Figs & Rouge Hand Cream in Rose Berry
At first glance, I thought this was fig-scented and I was super excited because I love the smell of figs. But, it turns out it’s Rose Berry-scented. Still very nice, although the scent sort of reminds me of fruity pebbles. This hand cream is shea butter-based and leaves your hands feeling really smooth (and not greasy!).

Full size: $6.50 / 20 ml
Sample size: $6.50 / 20 ml

IMG_0137Skone Cosmetics Tattooed Waterproof Eyeliner in Black
I haven’t given this a shot yet, but I was happy to receive it. Skone’s website claims it will last all day, so I’ll be testing it out soon – probably this weekend. Side note: apparently “skone” means beauty in Afrikaans. You learn something new everyday.

Full size: $15 / ? oz
Sample size: $15 / ? oz

I couldn’t get an exact calculation, but I came up with an estimate value of $31.80 for this month, and that doesn’t count the bag itself! If you’re not familiar with Ipsy, it’s $10/month with free shipping and you get all kinds of goodies like these! It’s super fun. 🙂

Wanna join Ipsy? I’d love it if you used my referral link when you sign up!

5 thoughts on “Review | October ’14 Ipsy

  1. I just found your blog and it is so well put together. Great pictures, cute, and very informative. Also I am extremly jealous of your ipsy bag that Pumpkin mask sounds AMAZING. I wasnt so satisfied with mine…

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad you find it informative! I’ve heard from a number of people that they weren’t satisfied with their Ipsy this month. Typically, there is a thing or two that I don’t like or won’t use, but this time was a home run! What did you get?

      Like

  2. You know what? I’ve been having such a love-hate relationship with my ipsy bags since I started getting them in July. I have yet to really get a product that I love…except for this vegan nail polish I got, that stuff was pretty awesome. But holy crap, I love your blog! Instant follow

    Like

  3. Pingback: October ’14 Beauty Favorites! | Thrifting & Bitching

Leave a Reply

