Review | November ’14 Send Me Gluten Free Box

IMG_0285

A few months ago, I decided to do a little test and cut gluten out of my diet for a couple of weeks. After 3 whole weeks without it, I felt that it didn’t make a big enough difference for me to make a permanent transition (for now, at least). However, in that time, I entered a few gluten-free contests and ended up winning this Send Me Gluten Free box! We all know how much I love subscription boxes, so I was very excited to give it a try!

IMG_0283Before I even get into the SMGF box, though – I stopped by the store tonight to get some cold medicine and decided to pick up a cheap bouquet of flowers. It’s amazing what having flowers in the house does for my mood. Anyone else get like that? No? Just me? Anyway, between the flowers and the free subscription box, my night is officially made!

As for SMGF, I think their branding is pretty cute and I love the style of box they use – it has a similar opening to Julep boxes and I love using them as a place to store nail polish and cosmetics!

 

IMG_0286First Glance:
I like that the box says, “It’s time to try something new.” I was expecting to find some kind of product card inside the envelope, but it was just a collection of coupons. (Great if you’re a couponer, but I personally rarely use them unless they’re online – I IMG_0287should probably get on that.) I will say, there’s quite a bit of product in here! The box is stuffed full!

 

 

Here’s What’s Inside:

  1. Bell Plantation PB Thins (peanut butter crackers) – $4 / 7 oz
  2. Ocean’s Halo Seaweed Chips (sea salt) – $2 / 1 oz
  3. Boulder Canyon Kettle Cooked Potato Chips (sea salt & cracked pepper) – $1.25 / 1.5 oz
  4. Nature’s Path Sunrise Granola (crunchy vanilla) – $1 / 30g
  5. Pascha Organic Dark Chocolate – $5 / 42g
  6. Snack Out Loud Crunchy Bean Snack (smoky chipotle bbq) – $2
  7. Wow Baking Co. Chocolate Chip Cookie – $2
  8. Amazing Foods for Life Muffin Mix (Vegan Banana Chocolate Chip) – $1.50 (?)
  9. Nuun Electrolyte Enhanced Drink Tab (lemon lime) – $0.50
  10. (2) Breeze Bars (original peanut crunch & chocolate cranberry) – $2 each
  11. Also included: Hodgson Mill Travel Flax / Chia and Swerve All-Natural Sweetener samples (probably not worth more than $0.25 combined)

IMG_0288

So, by my calculations (which may be slightly off), this box is worth $23.50 – and that doesn’t include the savings from the coupons. Now, if you are a month-to-month subscriber, that isn’t the best deal since one month rings in at $30. It then breaks down to $26/month for 3 months, $24/month for 6 months, or $20/month for 12 months. So, even with the longest subscription, the total savings for this box wouldn’t be that impressive.

With that being said, shopping for gluten-free stuff is a bitch. Didn’t take me more than 3 weeks to figure that out! Plus, it’s fun to get surprised with things that you might not personally pick out and try at the store. So, for those reasons, I’d still go for it if you’ve got the cash lying around and you’re gluten-free.

I won’t be subscribing, but you can’t beat getting free food sent to your house, so I’m happy to have won this box!

PS. The kettle chips are delicious. They didn’t make it through this blog post. 

PSS. Have you tried the Send Me Gluten Free box or any other food subscription boxes? What did you think? Tell me in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

