Review | JoAnna’s November ’14 Birchbox

IMG_0367

First off, let me just start by saying that I love this month’s theme – giving – and I am super happy that Birchbox has partnered up with (RED) to raise money and awareness for the fight against AIDS. Make sure you’re sharing a picture of the facts on your Birchbox and tagging it #shaRED! Birchbox will donate $1 to (RED) for each time this is done and it’s an incredibly deserving cause! Okay, now let’s get into the goodies… 

IMG_0354First Glance:
This is the first month EVER that I didn’t peek and it was so hard. But, I was actually pretty happy that I didn’t peek because it made opening my Birchbox so much more fun! I am genuinely excited about everything I got this month! Definitely a good match for me.

 

 

IMG_0356amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo
So, I’ve never really tried a dry shampoo before. I usually just use baby powder if I’m in a hurry and don’t have time to wash my hair. But, I’ve gotta say, this stuff is a LIFESAVER. I’ve had the cold from hell all week and this definitely came in handy when I traded in my shampoo time for naps on the couch.

Full size: $21 / 5.3 oz
Sample size: $3  / .75 oz

 

 

IMG_0361Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Cream
I love a good face cream, so I was glad to receive this! The ceramidin cream is supposed to fight redness, roughness, and irritation, so I think it will make a great addition to my winter skin routine.

Full size: $34 / 1.6 fl oz
Sample size: $4.25 / .2 fl oz

 

 

 

IMG_0358

Gilchrist & Soames Spa Therapy Body Wash
I don’t love getting body wash samples all that often, but every now and then it’s great because I can use it for an upcoming trip. This smells amazing – like “ocean-scented” candles. I’ll be bringing this with me when I visit New England next month for the holidays!

Full size: $15 / 8 fl oz
Sample size: $2.50 / 1.35 fl oz

 

 

 

IMG_0359Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel (Sensitive)
This is the sample I chose for November. I had been wanting to try it and I just tested it out about 10 minutes ago! My skin feels super soft right now, but I don’t know if I would call this a peel, since you just rinse it off like a mask. Seems like a good product, but I probably won’t spring for the full-size since it’s so expensive and didn’t blow me away.

Full size: $39 / 2 fl oz
Sample size: $5 / .26 fl oz

 

 

IMG_0363theBalm Cosmetics Cindy-Lou Manizer
I could go on for days about how adorable theBalm’s branding is, but I won’t bore you. I was happy to get this because I’ve been playing around a lot more with contour makeup, so this will be a nice highlighter to add to the rotation! (And seriously, the packaging is so damn cute!!)

Full size: $24 / net wt. .3 oz
Sample size: $1.50 / net wt. .02 oz

 

 

IMG_0352Bonus Item: Justin’s Chocolate Almond Butter
Yeahhhhh, so this guy definitely didn’t make it through the review, although I did take a picture of it first. That’s about as far as my self-control goes. Then I promptly ate this. I didn’t even put it on anything. I just ate it out of the package like an animal. #noshame

Full size: $12 / (10) 1.15 oz packets
Sample size: $1.25 / 1.15 oz packet

Here are the AIDS facts included on my Birchbox.

IMG_0364

It costs as little as 40 cents a day to provide life-saving medication for a person living with H.I.V.

IMG_0365

In 2002, 1,500 babies were born with HIV each day. Today, that number is down to 650. We can get that close to zero.

IMG_0366

Medication can reduce the risk of a mother passing H.I.V. on to her baby to less than 6%.

All together, this box came out to about $17.50, which is on the lower side of boxes I’ve gotten in the past. But, I really like everything and it was only $10, so I’m not mad at it! What did you get in this month’s Birchbox? Did you get the BuzzFeed box?!

PS. I’m officially a Birchbox Ace now! What whaaaaaat?!

PSS. Are you interested in joining Birchbox? I’d love it if you used my referral link when you join! 

Leave a Reply

