What Are We Thankful For?

thanksgiving-candles-dinner-background_zps112358b1

We thrifty bitches have a lot to be thankful for this Thanksgiving. All three of us have had a pretty eventful year so far and have gone through some big changes. I think we can all agree that life is beautiful, inspiring and messy, and we need to appreciate all the things that keep us going. So, as everyone comes together with friends and family today, we’d like to share the things we’re thankful for with you!

CASSIE:

First and most of all, I am thankful for my beautiful baby Ant. He is the most joyful, happy and inspiring thing to ever happen to me. He gives me motivation to make myself a better person. I’m thankful for our symbiotic relationship and that I am able to breast feed Ant, despite him being on formula for two weeks of his life. I’m thankful that he is a good sleeper and, I’m thankful that he’s healthy.

I’m also thankful to everyone- relative, friend, doctor, nurse or stranger- who helped Anthony and I and took care of Ant when he was sick. I’m thankful for medicine and hospitals. I’m thankful for all the baby gifts our friends and family sent to us from across the country. I’m thankful for the old man who overheard me talking to my dad while I was waiting for Ant’s liver biopsy to be over and gave me 20 dollars. Sometimes its hard to see the good in the world- especially with the tragedies and injustices that are occurring right now. But, some how our little family was lucky enough to already have wonderful people in our lives and to have some wonderful people cross our paths and enter our lives at a critical time.

We haven’t had cable for a long-ass time. So I’m definitely thankful for Netflix. We canceled our cable when I was 7 months pregnant, and probably won’t be getting it again for a while. With our move to Virginia coming up, we need to save, save, SAVE. Fortunately enough our TV addicted bums can get NBC (THE VOICE!!!) on antennae and can watch all the movies and shows our hearts desire for only eight dollars a month! (So much better than one hundred dollars a month!)

Speaking of moving to Virginia, I’m thankful for opportunities. I’m thankful that Anthony was offered a promotion. He has been working so hard and has wanted this for a long time. Soon, he will have weekends off and we will be able to plan things to do as a family, or simply stay home and snuggle our sweet baby all weekend. I’m very thankful for that. I’m thankful that I can go back to school in January, that I have enough financial aid to cover classes AND books, and that I finally believe in myself enough to get it done.

I’m thankful for our enormous, gas-guzzling, bazillion blind spot having, ugly-as-sin, 2006 Crown Victoria. That car may be nearly impossible for my 5’2″ self to drive. But it definitely was a blessing when I no longer had to walk 3 miles to see my OBGYN while hugely pregnant. And it beats waiting for the bus in the bone chilling cold or smothering heat. I’m thankful that it can drive us to Maine, or Massachusetts, or Indiana to see our family and friends and that our trips to the grocery store no longer take three hours, a bus ride and a cab ride.

 

ARIEL:

You never realize how hard it is to think of something to be thankful for when there are SO MANY things for which to be thankful.

I’m thankful for my friends. On the off chance of sounding cheesy, it’s true. Massachusetts has been a huge learning opportunity for me, not only because I went to Grad school here, but because of what I’ve learned about myself. But, I have not always been happy here. Without my friends I would have been even more miserable. I haven’t made a lot of friends in Mass, but the ones I did assured me that there really are good people.

I am thankful for the arts. Without singing and theatre, I would not the confident woman I am today. I may not always feel the most confident inside, but I always put on my brave face. Having the singular attention of hundreds of people helps. Theatre made me articulate and a better communicator. I would not have pursued a career in writing or communication without it. Singing made me a great listener, and those who know me know that I am not the most patient person, listeners have to be patient.

I am thankful for the ability to be self-sufficient. I’m not rich, but I’m able to feed myself and keep a roof over my head. There’s not much more to say about this. I’m just grateful to be one of the lucky ones, I know some people aren’t as fortunate.

I’m thankful for my education. I may be paying out the ass for it, but it’s molded me into a functioning member of society. Many members of my family have chosen different paths and I chose my education before having a house and family. Whatever you’re choice–it’s your choice. And I’m grateful that I got the opportunity to get two degrees.

I’m thankful for my little and big family. My handsome boyfriend, puppy Hazel, and kitty Lunette make up my little family. They’ve been a great daily support to me. And my extended family have been my support throughout my life, especially my grandparents.

 

JOANNA:

I’m thankful for a lot of things. In fact, I’m lucky enough to have so many things to be thankful for that I can’t even count them.

I’m thankful for my boyfriend. I know it’s cheesy, and every other 24-year old’s corny statement when they’re asked about their life. But, damn it if it isn’t true! He is one of the best things that has ever happened to me and is the only reason I’m able to feel at home in a place that often feels foreign to me.

I’m thankful for our dog, Igby. Again, I know. I’m basic – right? But, I love my dog. I love how he greets me at the door. I love how I haven’t eaten a meal in over a year without throwing ‘bows the whole time. I love how he insists on being under the covers all the time like I do. He’s just the best.

I’m thankful for my job. I’ve never learned more than I have working for Gig Salad. It’s taught me a lot about business and marketing, yes. But, it’s also taught me a lot about myself and a lot about connecting with other people. I’m thankful for my co-workers. They’re supportive and kind, and just all-around lovely people. I’m thankful to have warm, caring bosses who truly listen to and support their employees.

I’m thankful for my friends. Being away from my best friends (my fellow thrifty bitches) and all of the wonderful friends I had made in Boston has been hard, but the great thing about having true friends is that you can pick up wherever you left off. Distance doesn’t get in the way. I’m also thankful for the new friends I’ve made in Wilmington. I am so, so thankful to have local friends to share a “Friendsgiving” with this year.

I’m thankful for my family. I’ll be seeing them for the first time in probably a year and a half or two years this Christmas and I can’t wait! I even have a new nephew I’ve never met!

Last but not least – (well, maybe least on this list) – I’m thankful for sparkling wine and cupcakes. I’ve recently discovered that the pair makes even really shitty days feel like your birthday, and you just can’t beat that.

**

Many of the things we’re thankful for, you’ll notice, are not “things” at all, but people. At the end of the day, it’s the relationships we share that make life so wonderful. So, we’d also like to thank you! Thank you to anyone who is reading this, anyone who takes time out of their day to support this weird little adventure we’ve gone on with Thrifting & Bitching. We appreciate each and every one of you and your support.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

