Review | JoAnna’s December ’14 Birchbox

IMG_0609

Alright, alright, alright! It’s that time of the month again – Birchbox time! I actually got mine a week ago but I have been suuuuuuper busy with finals and art projects (and packing to head home for the holidays!), so I’m doing it now. Let me start off by saying that I was stoked for my December subscription boxes because I love the holiday season, but I was a bit disappointed this month. 

IMG_0616First Glance:
This month’s Birchbox theme is “Decked Out” and it’s all about celebrating the holidays! They teamed up with GAP, so every subscriber gets $10 to spend at GAP – in store only, unfortunately. (I prefer online.) Either way, ten bucks is ten bucks! Can we just talk about how gorgeous the box is?! I’m obsessed with it. I just wish I were as excited about the items I got…

*Please excuse the weird lighting in some of these photos! Normally, I’d retake them but time isn’t exactly on my side this week.

IMG_0623Mirenesse iCurl Secret Weapon 24Hr Mascara
This is one of the better items in my box! I don’t really have a lot of experience with this brand, so I’m definitely interested in testing it out. Also, the angle of the brush is kind of interesting! At the moment, though, I have TOO MUCH mascara. So, this may sit around for a bit before I get to it, but it’ll definitely get used!

 

Full size: $29 / .35 oz
Sample size: $11.50 / .14 oz

 

IMG_0620Number 4 Hair Care Hydrating Shampoo
Womp. I always get so bummed when I receive shampoos and conditioners. I’ve tried the volumizing version of this before (which I definitely do not need) and thought it was alright. I have a trip coming up, so this will get used, but it’s not my favorite thing to receive. (Oh, and this also came with a foil packet of the matching conditioner.)

 

Full size: $34 / 8.5 oz
Sample size: $4 / 1 oz

 

IMG_0621Royal Apothic Cuppa Cuppa Firming Tea Treatment Mask
This is what I’m most excited to try out. I definitely don’t do masks as often as I should, so it takes me a while to get through them. But, man, there’s nothing like a face mask and a glass of wine on a lazy night!

 

 

Full size: $58 / (6) .33 oz tubes
Sample size: $9.50 / (1) .33 oz tube

 

IMG_0618RUSK Texture Spray
Meh. I guess I just don’t really like getting hair products in my subs? Granted, this will get used, especially with the holidays and my birthday coming up – lots of opportunities for hairspray! Also, kudos to them on really cute branding!

 

 

Full size: $7 / 1.5 oz
Sample size: $7 / 1.5 oz

 

IMG_0624W3LL People Bio Brightener Stick 
This was the sample choice I selected this month. I use a lot of highlights in my makeup routine, so I was excited to try a new one. This has a lot of shimmer to it, so I can tell you right now it won’t become a staple of mine, but I do think it’ll be a fun way to switch it up for the holidays!

 

Full size: $33 / .4 oz
Sample size: $12? (just an estimate)

 

Overall, my Birchbox is worth $44 this month. It definitely wasn’t my favorite box, but I still adore BB and I’m definitely not going anywhere any time soon. They can’t all be home runs! I AM excited to be up to 300 BB points again! Eeeep! What to buy, what to buy….

Are you interested in joining Birchbox? I’d love it if you used my referral link when you join! 

*I was not compensated for this review. I purchased Birchbox with my own money and all opinions are my own and 100% honest.

4 thoughts on “Review | JoAnna’s December ’14 Birchbox

  1. I got that brightener stick too… I probably won’t use it for a while since I have a huge highlighter stick, but I might use it on Christmas since its sparkly! And a plus to getting shampoo is that shampoo smells dope AF!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Review |Ariel’s January ’15 Birchbox | Thrifting & Bitching

Leave a Reply

