Review | JoAnna’s December ’14 Ipsy & Breakup Letter

ipsy

It’s with a heavy heart that after a 15-month membership, I’ve gotta break up with ipsy. We’ve had some major ups and downs. There were months where I loved everything and months where I liked just one item. Regardless, for $10/month, it’s a great way to try out some new products. Read on to see what I got in my last bag and find out who I’m breaking up with ipsy for! 

IMG_0685First Glimpse:
I did the early sneak peek of my ipsy glam bag online and I was pretty bummed. Again, I realize it’s only $10, so it’s no big deal. But, I’m not super excited about anything I got this month, though a few of the items will definitely get used! Here’s a closer look at what I got…

 

 

IMG_0690Beauty Without Cruelty AHA 3% Facial Cleanser
I’ve never tried anything by Beauty Without Cruelty and despite the fact that I don’t need a facial cleanser at  the moment, I will definitely give this a shot when I’m through with my stuff from The Body Shop. I have a beagle, which I recently learned are the most common breed for animal testing in dogs, so I am definitely interested in using cruelty-free products for the sake of my little guy!

Full size: $12 / 8.5 oz
Sample size: $3 / 2 oz

 

You know, it’s kind of funny because I’ve been seeing people get these Cailyn products for months and months and I’ve always wanted to try it out. Now that I’ve had a chance to hold one in my hands, it has kind of lost its appeal. The packaging isn’t as nice as I thought it would be and I think I’m kind of maxed out on beigey/gold eye shadows. Off to the gift pile you go!

 

Full size: $15 / 2.5 g
Sample size: $15 / 2.5 g

 
 

IMG_0694NYX Cosmetics Butter Lip Balm
This is my favorite thing from this month’s glam bag. I use a lot of lip balm, especially during the winter, and I love tinted lip balms. I was actually really pleasantly surprised to receive a nude shade (which I don’t have a lot of and have been wanting). So this is a definite score!

 

Full size: $4 / .14 oz
Sample size: $4 / .14 oz

 
 
 

Meh. I’m just pretty over receiving hair sprays. I’ll use it, don’t get me wrong. But, this definitely isn’t my favorite thing to get in a subscription box. I do love having these little travel-size guys for when I take trips, though.

 
 

Full size: $19 / 4.2 oz
Sample size: $7.75 / 1.7 oz

 
 
 

I think if I didn’t already have this, I’d probably be pretty excited about it. But, I already own this and haven’t even had a chance to use it yet because I have a TON of mascara to get through right now. I do love Tarte products, though, and this will get used eventually!

 

Full size: $20 / .24 fl oz
Sample size: $8 / .10 fl oz

 
 
 

By my calculations, this bag is worth $37.75, and that doesn’t include the cost of the bag, itself. Honestly, even though I’m breaking up with ipsy, it’s a really cool sub and a great way to explore some new brands, colors, and products. I definitely recommend it if you’re a makeup lover – especially if you’re new to the makeup world and interested in exploring!

 

With that being said, I have a pretty overwhelming amount of makeup at the moment and there are so many subscription services out there that I want to try. So, I cancelled ipsy for now and I plan on signing up for something new and different for me – a sub called Vinyl Me, Please. It’s a monthly sub that sends you a record, a cocktail recipe (to pair with the record), and an album-inspired piece of art! Sounds like the perfect way to have a little me-time. So, be on the lookout for my first Vinyl Me, Please review, hopefully coming soon! 🙂

 

Have you ever taken a hiatus from a sub for a while and then gone back? I’m hoping to avoid the wait list if/when I decide to return, but that’s probably inevitable, right?? 

 

5 thoughts on “Review | JoAnna’s December ’14 Ipsy & Breakup Letter

Leave a Reply

