Review | Ariel’s January ’15 Birchbox

january2015

Yes, that’s right! It’s the special time of year when I get to review my first Birchbox. The New Year brings great resolutions and you know that many people are choosing to get healthier! That is one reason why I chose the Tone It Up box.

Here’s what’s inside:

January bb

That’s right the Klorane Dry Shampoo, Whish Body Butter,COOLA after-sun lotion, Coastal Scents Revealed Pallette, and Aquareveal Water Peel.

My first impressions:

I didn’t like receiving two lotions in one box. I also didn’t like receiving only one real beauty item in this box. Granted, I did choose the Tone It Up box when I selected it as my January option, because I really wanted the dry shampoo and the coastal scents pallette. They say the items included are gym bag essentials, but I wouldn’t consider some of these products to be gym essentials.

 

20150125_130219Klorane Dry Shampoo

I love dry shampoo – as you can see in my review of Herbal Essences’s Naked Dry Shampoo. It smells good, but kind of pressurized – like what you used to smell when spraying a can of silly string.

Full-sized: $19.50 / 3.2 oz

Sample: $6.46 / 1.06 oz

 

 

20150125_130024Whish Body Butter

Well, I’m a big fan of lavender – so the scent was perfect. The one thing I didn’t like was how greasy my hands felt after. Also, the body butters are normally really thick in consistency and this one was not. I feel like this is something that’s important to differentiate body butter from regular lotion. I probably wouldn’t use this often.

Full-sized: $24 / 150 ml

Sample: $3.52 / 22 ml

 

20150125_130102COOLA after-sun lotion

This is kind of a ridiculous product to send out in January. I mean, I live in Maine. I won’t be able to use this product until June at least. It smells pleasant, though – very lemony. The packaging is simple, but nice.

Full-sized: $32/ 6 oz

Sample: $2.67 / 0.5 oz

 

 

coastalscents

Coastal Scents Revealed Pallette

From the four colors they gave me, they were pretty colors. I got the “Latte” sampler. In order to buy the whole pallette I’d probably need a bigger sampler. Especially since I don’t like using browns on my lids because I have brown eyes. The colors went on well, they layer up pretty nicely, and they feel very soft.

Full-size: $19.95

Sample: $3.99?

 

20150125_130149 (1)Aquareveal Water Peel

I’m not sure I’ll ever use this regularly, but I may try it. I liked the packaging – the color was pretty. The peel itself kind of smells like paint, which makes me hesitant to put it on my face. I don’t think this is for everyone.

Full-size: $49 / 3.4 oz

Sample: $7.21 / 0.5 oz

 

 

And the grand total of this month’s box is $23.85, which isn’t bad, but definitely not the amount in a box we normally get. JoAnna’s box last month was worth around $44. Hopefully I’ll receive better things next month!

Are you interested in joining Birchbox? I’d love it if you used my referral link when you do!

Disclaimer: I was not compensated for this review. I purchased this box with my own money and all opinions are 100% my own.

3 thoughts on “Review | Ariel’s January ’15 Birchbox

  1. Pingback: My No-Poo Journey | Thrifting & Bitching

Leave a Reply

