Getting Into a Healthy Routine

Exercise-Morning

Photo Credit: PopSugar Fitness

Like most women, I’m my own worst critic. So while most (if not all) of the people I’ve come into contact with over the last year and a half would argue that I’m healthy – or even fit – I haven’t been too happy with my appearance for a while. Since moving to North Carolina in August of 2013, my weight has done some pretty serious yo-yoing. I gained a whopping 20 lbs, lost a bit, gained a bit back, lost some more. It has put my self-esteem on a bit of an emotional roller coaster, so I decided that it’s finally time to stop being lazy and really do something about it. 

Last week, I joined the gym. I’ve tried the working out at home to DVDs thing, the 21 Day Fix, and even bought a treadmill on Craigslist, but I was having a hard time staying motivated just exercising alone at home. I also don’t own any weight equipment or anything, so it was getting a little one-sided and boring, and to be perfectly honest, I had just stopped doing it at all. Enter, Planet Fitness.

riverfront1

I used to go to the gym very regularly when I lived in Boston, but my relationship to the gym has always been sort of a struggle. It takes a month or two of really consistent exercise for me to start to actually enjoy the gym and see results. (And to stop feeling like I got hit by a truck every time I move a muscle.) Obviously it can be really easy to fall off the wagon before that happens. Luckily, I have a few gym buddies here who can help me stay on track and I even went to Zumba yesterday! To start, I’ve been exercising every other day. Maybe at some point, I’ll pick it up and exercise every day, but I wanted to ease myself in first.

I feel like I’m at a pretty good starting point – not the heaviest I’ve been, but I weigh about 10 lbs more than I did when I moved here. The worst part about battling with your weight at my size is that it feels kind of stupid. Like, okay, I’m 25 years old and all of a sudden, I’m not a size 2 anymore. I probably should be like, “Who gives a shit?” But, unfortunately, I do care. It’s not that I think being a size 4-6 means I’m fat. Obviously that’s not the case… But, I just don’t think I wear my weight very well and as cliché as it may be, I loved being skinny. Is that awful?

377107_10150479032507444_1693868092_n

Can I look like this again please?? (Including the long hair – I’d like that back, too!)

I wouldn’t say I’ve set a weight goal for myself, because it’s more about the way I feel and look than a certain number on the scale. But, I’m thinking that I’d like to lose between 10-15 lbs. It’s going to take some time and dedication and I’m really trying to keep motivated this time around.

In addition to exercising, I’ve been drinking way more water – a gallon a day! I’m excited about that because I’ve also been trying to take way better care of my skin [see my latest haul from The Body Shop], so upping my water intake will help with that, too. While I’m not exactly going on a diet, I’m decreasing the amount of fried food, soda, and chocolate I eat. I don’t think it’s necessary for me to give up these things all-together, but it seems counterproductive to work out and then eat a bunch of french fries, you know?

Are you blogging about your fitness goals? I’d love to follow some other bloggers who could help me stay motivated! What are some of the things that have worked for you? Any advice, encouragement, or inspiration is appreciated!

One thought on “Getting Into a Healthy Routine

  1. I’m just starting to hit the gym more myself. College just hasn’t been kind to my body. I’m hoping I’ll be able to make some posts on better eating on a budget/on a college campus. Good luck with your journey!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

