Oscars Night! | A Viewing Party

IMG_0851

Some of you may be familiar with a site called HouseParty.com, which allows you to apply to host sponsored parties. On Sunday night, I hosted my very first sponsored party with a little help from Marriott Rewardsan Oscars viewing party! I had so much fun setting up for it and I was really happy about how it turned out, despite my limited budget. 

First of all, let’s just talk about what Marriott sent along… They sent me 12 plastic wine glasses, a plastic cocktail shaker, 6 photo props, a gold backdrop, and 12 Oscar ballots! I thought that everything they sent along was pretty cute, but I definitely wasn’t through with the decorating…

IMG_0853As you can see, I had plenty of wine available – and that’s just the red. (Thanks, Bright Cellars!) I made sure to stock up on bubbly, since there’s nothing more festive than sparkling wine for Oscars night. I mixed mine with this awesome Elderflower Lemonade I found at World Market and fresh raspberries. So good!

Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 6.07.18 PM.png

But, a party isn’t complete without snacks. As I mentioned before, I was working with a tight budget, but that doesn’t mean you can’t have a cheese tray! I decided to stick with two cheeses, a variety of crackers, and pepperoncini.

IMG_0848

 

Screen Shot 2015-02-24 at 6.07.37 PM

And I can’t think of a better excuse for Tuxedo Strawberries than an Oscars party, so…

IMG_3137

Tuxedo Strawberries are super easy to make. Just dip the front side in melted white chocolate (I also add a bit of coconut oil to thin it out), allow it to cool and harden, then dip each side into melted milk chocolate at an angle to create a V shape. I no longer have a piping bag or tips, but I just used a toothpick to create the buttons and bow ties. Voila!

IMG_0850The Oscars are all about celebrating the year’s best films, so I decided to create a little “concessions” station! You can find large plastic popcorn buckets at your local Dollar Tree and I bought the smaller, paper popcorn containers for cheap at Target, (I think?). For snacks, I put out popcorn (Movie Theater Butter flavored, of course), peanut butter-filled pretzels, gummy worms, caramel kisses (with their festive gold wrappers), hazelnut chocolate wafers, and white chocolate-dipped Oreos!

I picked up your basic, run-of-the-mill black plastic tablecloth at the dollar tree and dressed it up by spreading gold star confetti all across the table top. I found these little white treat bags (AKA “wedding cake bags”) at Party City and used a black Sharpie to make them a bit more festive!

IMG_3140

David might kill me for putting up this picture, but how cute did the bags turn out?!

David might kill me for putting up this picture, but how cute did the bags turn out?!

Also, I should tell you all now that if there is any excuse whatsoever for me to make a gift basket, I’m 100% going to do it. After all, Marriott was kind enough to provide Oscar ballots, so I thought we should put them to good use! I told all of my guests to bring $5 if they wanted to play for the grand prize. At the end of the night, whoever correctly guessed the most Oscar winners would go home with ALL of the pooled money and a fun gift basket put together by yours truly!

IMG_0845

I had so much fun putting together this basket! I found the small plastic popcorn containers at the Dollar Tree (as a set – score!). I also included some popular movie theater snacks: Skittles, Mike & Ikes, Twizzlers, popcorn, and chocolates. Yum! Then, because I wanted to get a little fancy, I bought an extra bottle of bubbly and coated it in gold glitter. It’s so easy to do and it just makes it so much more festive! Oh, and those plastic flute glasses? I also found those at the Dollar Tree and I spruced them up by taping them off and spray painting the stems gold.

Not surprisingly, my friend Heather won!

IMG_3182

She’s so humble, you guys.

IMG_0874

And while we’re on the subject of the photo booth… Here are a few photos from throughout the night! Drumroll, please…

IMG_0867

 

IMG_0868

 

IMG_0861

 

10835442_10152712770102444_1887354832440063520_o

 

IMG_0860

 

IMG_3158

 

IMG_0876

 

IMG_3152

 

10994939_10152712812532444_3308715598227679826_n

Have I mentioned how much I love this tiny top hat / headband I bought at Target? Anyway, as you can see, some of us had a good time in the photo booth!

But, some people weren’t in a photo booth kind of mood, I guess. *ahem*

IMG_3149

Not a great photo of it, but I also spread gold confetti on the drink trays!

Big thanks to HouseParty.com and Marriott Rewards for selecting me to host. I had a really great time watching The Oscars with friends and even though I didn’t win (I was way off), I’m so glad to have hosted this party! In fact, an annual Oscars party isn’t sounding half bad… Maybe next year, I can even destroy an innocent Ken doll with gold spray paint and make my very own Oscar statue!

Leave a Reply

